EXPERIMENT: I WILL DREAM WHATEVER I WANT

(ALL TEXT WRITTEN HERE IS ONE HUNDRED PERCENT TRUE. I DIDN’T FAKE ANYTHING. FEEL FREE TO SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS REGARDING THIS IN THE COMMENTS.)

(ALL OF THESE THOUGHTS WERE ACTUALLY THOUGHT BY MY BRAIN, EACH NIGHT. PERSONAL THOUGHTS THAT DO NOT AFFECT THE EXPERIMENT HAVE BEEN EXCLUDED.)

(THANKS, YOU MAY PROCEED TO READ NOW.)

So I have read in many books and other places that you dream of whatever you think, when you think things right before you sleep. I mean to say, you dream of the thoughts you think that make you dream..no..

YOU DREAM YOUR THOUGHTS – THE THOUGHTS WHICH COME INTO YOUR BRAIN RIGHT BEFORE YOU SLEEP.

So, today, I’m going to conduct an EXPERIMENT, where I will think of random things, and write them down, right before sleeping. So hopefully, if I remember my dreams tomorrow morning I’ll know if this fact is correct!

Hehe, there’s a mosquito sitting on my screen right now.

Anyway, I’m gonna try this over a period of one week, starting from tonight, and write down my dreams and thoughts…

On the last night however (NIGHT 7), I’m going to think of things that I WANT to be in my dream, and try to create my OWN dream. I don’t even think this is possible, but I’m trying it out ANYWAY.

NIGHT 1 – 23rd November 2020

Things I’ve thought of-

  • Why does the pencil I’m using have tape on it?
  • Is there a word that starts with hasa.. – I FORGOT THE WORD
  • Trying to say the word ITCH without the T
  • What’s the full form of MD?
  • My 5th grade history textbook which had a page about homo sapiens
  • Pumpkins are not very tasty
  • Ma Grunter – a character from The Ickabog (by JK Rowling)
  • I need to wash my hair tomorrow
  • Very sleepy – good night

So those are the things I wrote down before I slept. Today morning (24th November 2020), while brushing my teeth, I remembered my dream. The following is only what I vaguely remember from it.

The DREAM (vague memories) – I cut off my hair along with my braids, because I wanted to try out short hair for a day, and then realized that my parents would not be very happy. So I became quite agitated, and ran around the house, hoping that they wouldn’t find me. Then, for some reason, I woke up from my dream, and thought for a second that I still had short hair…

CONCLUSION – So we can see that this is somewhat related to my last thought, which in fact, I had been thinking about for quite sometime.

NIGHT 2 – 24th November 2020

My strange thoughts-

  • Cyclones
  • Earth angels from Back to the Future
  • How long will YouTube last?
  • Curly beards
  • Which came first – Tamil or Sanskrit?

WHAT HAPPENED DURING THE NIGHT – My mother woke me up, in the middle of the night for something, and I SCREAMED. All I remember is that I saw a scary FACE right before I was woken up. So, in the shock of seeing ANOTHER face, I did what any other sensible person would do – I SCREAMED. This was DEFINITELY a rather strange night.

CONCLUSION – I have NO CLUE how that face was related to ANY of my thoughts.

NIGHT 3 – 25th November 2020

Useless thoughts-

  • I’m too tired
  • The embroidery on my pillow is nice..
  • When will I ever see school again?
  • I’m too sleepy
  • Bai

When I woke up –

I woke up the next morning and tried my VERY BEST to remember my dream, unfortunately, I didn’t remember it.

CONCLUSION – This experiment is going in THREE DIFFERENT ways.

NIGHT 4 – 26th November 2020

Oddly odd thoughts –

  • My exams are over!
  • Pioneer Saloon
  • Did I finish my homework?
  • I really should start reading more books by Agatha Christie
  • Anyway, Good night..

AGAIN, NO DREAM.

CONCLUSION – I’m not too sure..

NIGHT 5 – 27th November 2020

Thoughts I thought –

  • What should my next post be about? A story or something else?
  • So no field trip this year (from school)
  • UGH… COVID
  • Hmm… mosquitoes have caused the maximum human deaths in the world.
  • These thoughts are SO random
  • I HOPE I HAVE A DREAM TONIGHT
  • Goodnight

I really hoped to have a dream, and surprisingly, my wish was granted!

THE STRANGE DREAM:

(To be honest, I’m not even sure if this is a dream or a random thought I had just after I woke up. I’m pretty sure it WAS a dream, but I’m informing you anyway.)

I was in a ZOOM meeting, and instead of sending a PRIVATE message to someone, I PUBLICLY sent it out. I don’t remember WHAT message that was, but I’m quite sure it was something rather EMBARASSING – because that’s what happened to me at school the previous day (not in the dream). We had sports, and I couldn’t hear my teacher because I had the WRONG set of speakers on for some reason, so instead of PRIVATELY messaging my friend, I PUBLICLY sent the following:

hi
can u hear mam?

It was then that I realized what a terrible mistake I’d done, and I switched off my camera. ANYWAY, that’s not the point. The point is, my dream (if at all that’s what my dream was), was somewhat related to my thoughts.

CONCLUSION – This experiment is going pretty well, I think it quite proves the fact that your thoughts affect your dreams.

NIGHT 6 – 28th November 2020

Stuff in my brain

  • What is a zillionth of a millimeter? And how many 0s does zillion even HAVE?
  • What was the racecar joke again? Oh, if you say it in reverse, it’s still RACECAR.
  • I’m in need of ice cream (desperate).
  • How will I look when I’m fifty?
  • How is Tom and Jerry a kids’ show? IT’S ABOUT A CAT TRYING TO MURDER A MOUSE.

THE DREAM(S) –

All I remember is that I was in some competition, where I saw one of my school teachers. And it was TOTAL CONFUSION there. I also know that I dreamt something ELSE, because I remembered it the next morning when I woke up, but now I’ve forgotten it.

CONCLUSION – I had school that day, and I thought about the particular teacher once or twice, so there is a DISTINCT link between that thought and my vague dream.

URRGHHH

I WANT TO REMEMBER THAT DREAM… WILL UPDATE YOU IF (AND WHEN) I REMEMBER IT.

NIGHT 7 – 29th November 2020 – THE GRAND NIGHT

So this was the night, the night I made up my OWN dream, or at least, I TRIED to.

I lay in my bed, thinking about some possibilities for the BEST dream I ever wanted to have. Various thoughts entered my brain, and all of them were REJECTED, except for ONE.

And that ONE thought, which was going to make it into my dream was –
(don’t expect too much)

This experiment becomes a SUCCESS and I have the power to CONTROL my dreams in the future.
IMAGINE BEING ABLE TO CONTROL YOUR DREAMS! HAVING THE ABILITY TO DREAM WHATEVER YOU WANT….

Anyway, that’s what I thought about that night, and I hoped very much that that would be my DREAM.

Well, it looks like I was WRONG. I woke up the next morning, only to find that I DIDN’T REMEMBER MY DREAM.

Not only that, I just found out that this fact that you dream your thoughts before you sleep, is NOT COMPLETELY TRUE. It can be anything related to whatever happened in the day. This means, that ALL my efforts are WASTED.

None of those thoughts I wrote down even MATTER.

I’m too annoyed to do this again, and there’s no point in continuing this.

So see you next time.

BAI.

10 thoughts on “EXPERIMENT: I WILL DREAM WHATEVER I WANT

Leave a comment