AN INCREDIBLY SILLY POEM ABOUT A BUMP

The following poem, is so nonsensical that you must make sure that you’re in a mood to laugh when you read it. Please remember that logic in this poem wasn’t considered essential by the author and is something that is totally non-existant, non-pervading and not non-nonning.

With a bowl of buttery popcorn ready,
I made my way to the television, with my dog Teddy.
I pressed a button and switched on a switch;
And debated whether to watch ‘Kaw’ or ‘The Witch’.

I then decided ‘Kaw’.
Holding Teddy’s paw,
I started watching.
Expecting the movie to be terrifying.

OH, HOW WRONG I WAS.

Half-way through, I fell asleep.
And I was quite deep in sleep,
When, I heard Teddy bark,
And awoke with a leap, in the dark.

I felt my way around, and switched on a switch.
And suddenly, I felt my hand itch.
The fan had started spinning,
And I thought the light should’ve been glowing.

I had pressed the wrong switch.

I felt my way to the switchboard again,
And this time, I felt the light glow, and the darkness drain.
I sighed and patted Teddy,
And once again realized that my hand was itchy.

I lifted my arm, and was shocked to see-
What I thought to be the sting of a bee!
But oh, my, what a BIG bump it was,
I had no idea of its cause.

I looked around, and remembered,
That it was Teddy’s bark which had awoken me.
And I could make no sense,
of anything that was going on.

I looked outside, and saw geese flying,
And inside, mosquitos hopping.
And then I wondered, was this bump,
A GOOSE BUMP?

Weighing the possibilities, I understood,
That, on my arm, a mosquito had stood,
OR, a goose bump had arisen strong and mighty,
AND, I knew I shouldn’t take this too lightly.

So now, my friends, you tell me-
Is the bump on my arm you see,
The sting of a bee?
Or the bite of a mosquito?
Or the bite of those geese?

OR

A MIX OF ALL?

The bing of a GEESQUIBEE?

6 thoughts on “AN INCREDIBLY SILLY POEM ABOUT A BUMP

Leave a comment